RSS Feed

Hot and Cheesy Bacon Dip & Fun Shaped Baked Chips

Right now I’m listening to my 18 month old throw handful after handful of her lunch off of her highchair tray. As soon as I go in there she’ll  probably point at the thousands of goldfish crackers and half-eaten banana she’s strewn about the kitchen and smile at me proudly. Little stinker. At least I just steam mopped the floor and can leave them there until  she wants a snack.

I kid, I kid!

Kind of.

While I’m waiting to go in to see what she’s created, I’ll share this fun way to make healthy baked chips. My original plan was to make shamrock shaped chips since St. Patrick’s Day is right around the corner. I have one of those big boxes of cookie cutters that has shapes for nearly every holiday and was confident it had a shamrock. WRONG. So I went with stars.

Shamrocks= Leprechauns= Pots of gold= Rainbows= Pixie dust= Stars.  See, it works.

To start, get your favorite flour tortillas, corn tortillas, pitas, wraps, flatbread etc. I used spinach and herb flavored wraps because I wanted the green color. I wish I would have though about this sooner and made hearts from tomato wraps for Valentines day! Next year.

Figure out what shape you want to cut them into and never assume that you have the shape you want. Oh, crazy cookie cutter people. No shamrock? Really?!

Place your cut-out pieces on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or foil.

Use a non-stick cooking spray to coat your shapes in a thin layer of oil and sprinkle with kosher salt.

Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 400°. The edges will be lightly browned, but they will not seem crisp all the way through. Once cool, they crisp up and are ready to be dipped in something amazing.

Want that something amazing to dip them in? Hot and Cheesy Bacon Dip, my friend. You’re welcome.

Hot and Cheesy Bacon Dip

Printable Recipe

Recipe By Heather Likes Food

1 C Mayonnaise

1 C Sour Cream

2 C Grated Monterrey Jack Cheese

1/2 C shredded Parmesan cheese

6 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried tarragon, rubbed between your palms to release some of the oils of the herb

a few dashes Chipotle Chili Powder, more if you like it spicy!

Preheat Oven to 400°

Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl and transfer to an 8×8″ baking dish. Bake for 15-20  minutes or until bubbly and cheese is melted. Serve with chips, veggies, or bread. Delish!

Fun Shaped Baked Chips

Printable Recipe

Recipe By Heather Likes Food

 Flour or Corn Tortillas, pitas, wraps, or flat bread

Non-stick cooking spray

Kosher Salt for Sprinkling

Preheat Oven to 400°

Cut tortillas (wraps, etc.) into desired shapes. Spray with non-stick cooking spray to cover each cut-out with a thin layer of oil, and sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned. The middles will seem soft, but will crisp once cooled.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: I Turned On My Radio Today « newfoundlandtraveller

  2. Wow, thanks for this. I’ll definitely be making these for my co-workers for Friday since Patty’s Day is on a Saturday. So easy but such a great idea. Adding the tortillas to my shopping list for today. How many people do you think the dip will serve? I’ve got around 20 people who like going back (and back, and back) for nibbles :-)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Winning Dips and Dunkers for Game Day | Yummly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

